Back

Little North
While You Wait

VÖ: 29.02.2024

Genre: Junge Talente, Jazz, Neu bei ACT

CD

€18.00*

ACT 9982-2, 614427998224
Benjamin Nørholm Jacobsen / piano
Martin Brunbjerg Rasmussen / bass
Lasse Jacobsen / drums

Featuring:
Oscar Andreas Haug / trumpet


Any conversation about the piano trio in the European jazz of recent decades will inevitably touch on the topic of the "Nordic sound". The leading exponents of it – Jan Johansson, Bobo Stenson, Bugge Wesseltoft, Esbjörn Svensson… – have not just drawn on the vast palette of American jazz, they are also musicians steeped in the songs of their homelands, as well as in the European classical music canon and contemporary music. With their strong feeling for melody, harmony and dramaturgy, pianist Benjamin Nørholm Jacobsen, bassist Martin Brunbjerg Rasmussen and drummer Lasse Jacobsen create a cinematic sound, music which can at times be melancholic, at others enchantingly beautiful, and which is full of twists and turns.

The three musicians, all of whom were born in the early 1990s, met while studying at the conservatory in Denmark. In the few years since the first album they made together in 2020, they have quickly managed to build up a loyal following both on- and offline, something remarkable considering that their beginnings were during the time of the coronavirus pandemic. The audience they reached is young; these people tend not to be jazz aficionados. Pianist Benjamin Nørholm Jacobsen says: "I think the song-like, atmospheric character of our music makes it easy for people to connect with. The ingredients are quite complex, but it is never something intellectual, either for us or for our audience; the most important thing is emotion. At our concerts I always hear that people have been impressed by the way the band plays together. They can intuit that there is a real connection between us, and that something new is always emerging from it."

The album "While You Wait" consists of eight instrumental tracks in which Little North, in a purely acoustic trio setting, creates very different, haunting moods. That is one of the band's special qualities. Rather than a focus on the "what" of their music, or its formal and conceptual aspects, it is on the "how", in other words the trio’s sound, the interplay between its members and the fascinating narratives which they develop. For their ACT debut, the trio has expanded its line-up for the first time to include young Norwegian trumpeter Oscar Andreas Haug. Like Little North, he is also clearly blessed with the kind of musicality and presence which not only builds on Norway’s unique jazz trumpet tradition, but also carries it into the future. His airy, vocal tone may have echoes of the greats - Nils Petter Molvaer or Arve Henriksen - but at the same time there is something new and without precedent. It is also impressive to hear how closely and dynamically Haug's playing connects with the rest of the band, how his nuanced melodic lines go beyond normal semitones, to open up the world of micro-tones. This is the kind of melodic line that the Sami, the indigenous people of Scandinavia, have been practising for centuries. This is another fascinating and genuinely "Nordic" colour which enriches the spectrum of the music on the album.

Reflecting further on things "Nordic", the trio’s original name was simply "North", but that proved to be completely untraceable in the digital space, so it was changed to "Little North". Drummer Lasse Jacobsen reflects: "We all come from the north and I guess Denmark is the smallest part of the north. And at the same time, "Little" also refers to the closeness and compactness of the trio line-up. “It’s where we feel most comfortable, because it allows for such direct, close musical communication." There is, however, nothing little about what the Danish broadsheet Politiken has called their “seriously original expression.” "While You Wait" features four extraordinarily talented young musicians whose hearts, minds and considerable skills are dedicated entirely to the purpose of some superb musical story-telling.
Little North
Any conversation about the piano trio in the European jazz of recent decades will inevitably touch on the topic of the “Nordic sound”.The leading exponents of it - Jan Johansson, Bobo Stenson, Bugge Wesseltoft, Esbjörn Svensson…- have not just drawn on the vast palette of American jazz, they are also musicians steeped in the songs of their homelands, as well as in the European classical music canon, and contemporary pop. And whereas their music may be known for stillness and spaciousness, it is no wallflower: the Nordic piano trio has a huge audience worldwide, and its influence on subsequent generations of musicians has been incalculable and profound. The Danish piano trio “Little North” - pianist Benjamin Nørholm Jacobsen, bassist Martin Brunbjerg Rasmussen and drummer Lasse Jacobsen - has what it takes to open up a new and significant chapter in this story.With their strong feeling for melody, harmony and dramaturgy, these three young musicians create a cinematic sound, music which can at times be melancholic, at others enchantingly beautiful, and which is full of twists and turns.

Zurück

Little North
While You Wait

VÖ: 29.02.2024

Genre: Junge Talente, Jazz, Neu bei ACT

CD

18,00 €*

ACT 9982-2, 614427998224
Benjamin Nørholm Jacobsen / piano
Martin Brunbjerg Rasmussen / bass
Lasse Jacobsen / drums

Featuring:
Oscar Andreas Haug / trumpet


Wenn man Klaviertrios im europäischen Jazz der letzten Jahrzehnte betrachtet, fällt früher oder später unweigerlich der Begriff des "nordischen Sounds". Dessen führende Vertreter wie Jan Johansson, Bobo Stenson, Bugge Wesseltoft oder Esbjörn Svensson schöpften nicht nur aus der großen Bandbreite des amerikanischen Jazz, sondern auch aus ihren eigenen musikalischen Wurzeln wie den traditionellen Liedern ihrer Heimatländer, klassischer und aktueller Musik. Mit seinem ACT-Debüt "While You Wait" hat das dänische Klaviertrio "Little North" das Potenzial, in dieser Geschichte ein neues Kapitel aufzuschlagen. Mit einem starken Gespür für Melodie, Harmonie und Dramaturgie erzeugen Pianist Benjamin Nørholm Jacobsen, Bassist Martin Brunbjerg Rasmussen und Schlagzeuger Lasse Jacobsen einen cineastischen Sound, mal melancholisch, mal bezaubernd schön und voller Wendungen.

Kennengelernt haben sich die drei Anfang der 90er geborenen Musiker am Konservatorium in Dänemark. In nur wenigen Jahren seit ihrem ersten gemeinsamen Album im Jahr 2020 gelang es ihnen, trotz der Widrigkeiten der Corona-Zeit, sich schnell ein treues On- und Offline-Following zu erspielen und dabei auch ein junges Publikum ohne tieferen Jazz-Background zu erreichen. Pianist Benjamin Nørholm Jacobsen sagt: „Ich glaube, der Songhafte, atmosphärische Charakter unserer Musik macht es den Menschen leicht, sich in diese einzufühlen. Die Zutaten sind durchaus komplex, aber weder für uns noch für unser Publikum ist das eine intellektuelle Sache, das Wichtigste ist die Emotion. Und auf unseren Konzerten höre ich immer wieder, dass die Menschen vom Zusammenspiel der Band beeindruckt sind. Sie spüren, dass es zwischen uns eine echte Verbindung gibt und das aus dieser ständig etwas Neues entsteht.“

Das Album "While You Wait" besteht aus acht instrumentalen Songs, in denen Little North, im rein akustischen Trio Setting sehr unterschiedliche, eindringliche Stimmungen erzeugen. Darin liegt eine besondere Qualität der Band. Nicht das „Was“, also das Formale, Konzeptionelle steht im Vordergrund, sondern das „Wie“, der Klang, das Zusammenspiel, die Erzählung. Für ihr ACT-Debüt erweitert das Trio seine Besetzung erstmals um den jungen norwegischen Trompeters Oscar Andreas Haug. Und wie Little North hat auch dieser das Zeug, eine prägende Linie des Jazz seiner Heimat fortzusetzen. Sein luftiger, gesanglicher Ton erinnert unweigerlich an Größen wie Nils Petter Molvaer oder Arve Henriksen doch zugleich ist da etwas Neues, bislang Un-Gehörtes. Es ist beeindruckend, wie eng und dynamisch sich Haugs Spiel mit dem Rest der Band verbindet und wie sich seine nuancierten Melodielinien von gängigen Halbtönen in den mikrotonalen Bereich bewegen. Eine Art der Melodieführung wie sie die Samen, die Ureinwohner Skandinaviens seit Jahrhunderten praktizieren, und eine weitere „nordische“ Farbe im Spektrum der Musik des Albums.

A propos „nordisch“: Der ursprüngliche Bandname lautete schlicht „North“ und wurde erst später, ob der Unauffindbarkeit des Begriffes im digitalen Raum zu „Little North“. Schlagzeuger Lasse Jacobsen: „Wir kommen alle aus dem Norden und ich schätze, Dänemark ist der kleinste Teil des Nordens. Und zugleich meint „Little“ auch die kompakte Triobesetzung, in der wir uns am wohlsten fühlen, weil sie eine so direkte, enge musikalische Kommunikation erlaubt.“ Und der Bandname verkörpert, wahrscheinlich unbewusst, ein Understatement, das typisch für die Band ist. „While You Wait" zeigt vier außerordentlich talentierte junge Musiker, die ihre Fähigkeiten ganz in den Dienst des musikalischen Geschichtenerzählens stellen.
Little North
Wenn man Klaviertrios im europäischen Jazz der letzten Jahrzehnte betrachtet, fällt früher oder später unweigerlich der Begriff des "nordischen Sounds". Dessen führende Vertreter wie Jan Johansson, Bobo Stenson, Bugge Wesseltoft oder Esbjörn Svensson schöpften nicht nur aus der großen Bandbreite des amerikanischen Jazz, sondern auch aus ihren eigenen musikalischen Wurzeln wie den traditionellen Liedern ihrer Heimatländer, europäischer klassischer Musik und zeitgenössischem Pop. Das dänische Klaviertrio "Little North" bestehend aus Pianist Benjamin Nørholm Jacobsen, Bassist Martin Brunbjerg Rasmussen und Schlagzeuger Lasse Jacobsen hat das Potenzial, ein neues und Kapitel in dieser Geschichte aufzuschlagen. Mit einem starken Gespür für Melodie, Harmonie und Dramaturgie erzeugen die drei jungen Musiker einen cineastischen Sound, mal melancholisch, mal bezaubernd schön und voller Wendungen.