Geir Lysne

VÖ: 01.01.2003

Genre: Bigband

No longer available

ACT 9236-2, 6 14427 92362 2
Geir Lysne Listening Ensemble, conducted by Geir Lysne:
Ketil V. Einarsen - flutes, piccolo flute
Morten Halle - alto and soprano saxophone, flute
Klaus Graf - alto saxophone, flute
Andi Maile - tenor saxophone, flute
Fredrik Ø. Jensen - tenor and baritone saxophone
Bernhard Seland - baritone saxophone, bass clarinet
Frank Brodahl - trumpet, fluegelhorn
Marius Haltli - trumpet, fluegelhorn
Ole Jørn Myklebust - trumpet, fluegelhorn
Eckhard Baur - trumpet, fluegelhorn, vocals
Helge Sunde - trombone
Christian Jaksjø - trombone
Jørgen Gjerde - trombone
Ketil Hovland - trombone
Jørn Øien - keyboards
Hallgrim Bratberg - guitar
Jan Olav Renvåg - double bass, electric bass, tuba
Kenneth Ekornes - drums, percussion
Knut Aalefjær - drums, percussion

Special Guests:
Sondre Bratland - vocals

Recorded by Jan Erik Kongshaug at Rainbow Studio, Oslo on November 6 - 8, 2001
Mixed and Mastered by Jan Erik Kongshaug in January 2002
Produced by Geir Lysne
Geir Lysne
The Norwegian saxophonist, composer and arranger Geir Lysne is one of the greatest innovators in his field - both in jazz and in the Norwegian classical orchestral landscape.With his "Listening Ensemble", he succeeded in nothing less than redefining the big band concept. "This band copies nothing and nowhere", wrote the Süddeutsche Zeitung, the FAZ saw in Lysne "a solitaire and visionary".He has won, among others, the German Record Critics' Award, the Norwegian Grammy and just recently the Echo Jazz 2013 for the best big band album. Lysne brings a completely new richness of colour to jazz in a wide variety of instrumentations. Through unusual instrumentation and above all through extensive recourse to world music contexts, he succeeds in creating a new, "Nordic", unmistakable kind of melodious spatial sound and dynamics.