Frøy Aagre

Cycle Of Silence - CD

  • Format: CD
  • Cat No.: ACT 9491-2
  • Barcode: 614427949127
  • German Release: 22/01/2010
  • Genre: Saxophone Jazz, Norwegian Jazz

„Umwerfend ausgereift! Ihr internationaler Durchbruch.“ JAZZTHETIK

No longer available – out of print

Greatness often lies in compactness. If you search for the important impulses in European jazz you won’t necessarily find them in the cities and densely populated urban centres of our world; instead we should look to the corners and countrysides, and a land of fewer than 5 million inhabitants - Norway. No other country in the world has produced more prolific jazz musicians, at least when compared with the number of its inhabitants. Jan Garbarek, Nils Petter Molvear, Silje Nergaard and Bugge Wesseltoft are only the well established stars. In addition to these, new and highly promising musicians are also regularly stepping into the limelight. 32-year-old saxophonist Frøy Aagre from Tønsberg is one of these rising stars from the land of the Northern Lights, and Cycle of Silence is her ACT debut. Aagre’s “Nordic Jazz” tells of an expectant...

line up

Frøy Aagre / soprano saxophone
Andreas Ulvo / piano
Audun Ellingsen / double bass
Freddy Wike / drums

Sigrun Eng / cello (# 01, 06, 07, 10)
Trude Eick / french horn (# 02, 05)
Øyvind Brække / trombone (# 02, 05)

Recording Information

Music composed and arranged by Frøy Aagre

Recorded by Peer Espen Ursfjord, mixed and mastered by Jan Erik Kongshaug at Rainbow Studio, Oslo, Norway
Produced by Frøy Aagre